saturday morning coffee / Uncategorized

saturday morning coffee (five)

“My year on Match.com” by Anne Lamott

“This is a true story: He was 10 minutes late, and shaken, because he had just seen a fatal motorcycle accident on the Richmond San Rafael Bridge. He had stopped to inspect the body, because he was worried that it was his son, although his son rode a dramatically different brand of motorcycle. He had gotten out, talked to the police, and gotten a peek at the corpse. This sort of put the kibosh on things for me. I recommended that we reschedule to a day when he hadn’t seen any dead people. He wanted to proceed. I got him a nice cup of tea.”

I’m pretty sure Anne Lamott could write a piece about her grocery list and I would want to read it. Love her wit.

The Absurd Legalism of Gender Roles: Exhibit C – “As long as I can’t see her…” by Rachel Held Evans

“Piper argues that a woman can teach a man so long as her teaching is ‘impersonal,’ ‘indirect,’ and ‘removed’—essentially, so long as it is easy for him to forget she is a woman.

Regarding a woman who has written a biblical commentary, he explains: ‘She’s not looking at me, and directing me…as woman. There is this interposition of this phenomenon called ‘book’ that puts her out of my sight and, in a sense, takes away the dimension of her female personhood, whereas if she were standing right in front of me and teaching me as my shepherd…I couldn’t make that separation’ (emphasis mine).”

I have a lot of respect for John Piper as a scholar and a teacher, but the audio clip critiqued in this post is absurd. If a woman is a capable Bible scholar, then men shouldn’t be so prideful or insecure that they feel unable to learn from her, whether in print or in person. It’s dehumanizing.

“Home, In Five Parts” by Idelette McVicker

So, now when you come through our front door and I give you a tight hug, welcoming you into our home and into a bigger story, maybe you’ll understand where this yearning for openness and an expansive view of the world was fire-formed.

“The Most Difficult But Greatest Lesson I’ve Learned in One Year of Marriage” by Lauren Dubinsky

“When we read books about marriage and relationships, particularly in the Christian circles, we tend to study the opposite gender, almost as if to discover and prepare for everything about a person before we even meet them.

The God of the universe has not created more than 9 million species of animals, only to create two types of people. He has not created more than 315,000 species of plants, only to create “a man” and “a woman.”

He has created, instead, billions of wildly unique individuals.”

I read this post on Lauren’s personal blog a while ago and thought it was great, so I was thrilled to see it published on Huffington Post.

“I Want to Be a Dad” by Registered Runaway

“I don’t think these little orphans are sitting in dank, overcrowded, odorous rooms scrawling out checkbox lists in which they will agree to an adoption. I think they’re crying every time another one of their friends is chosen over them. I think their hearts break that no one has come yet. Call me crazy, but I believe they want to be adopted by anyone that promises them love.

And I need to be a dad to one of those kids. Whether they are ten days or ten years old, I want to be love to them. I want to take care of them.”

I found this post really heartbreaking, and as someone with a heart for orphans, I can certainly grasp his point that children who have been orphaned or abandoned would be better off with one loving parent than with none.

“Being Gay at Jerry Falwell’s University” by Brandon Ambrosino

“‘Homosexuality!’ I blurted. ‘I’ve been struggling with homosex…’ and I broke down. Here I was in the English chair’s office at the world’s most homophobic university, and I’d just admitted to her I was gay.

She got up from her chair, and rushed over to me. I braced myself for the lecture I was going to receive, for the insults she would hurl, for the ridicule I would endure. I knew how Christians were, and how they clung to their beliefs about homosexuals and Sodom and Gomorrah, and how disgusted they were by gay people. The tears fell more freely now because I really liked this teacher, and now I ruined our relationship.”

When I was at Liberty, I always wondered how homosexual students were received by people in leadership roles. Brandon Ambrosino is a great storyteller who speaks about his experiences with grace, and I have to say I’m pleasantly surprised to hear about the love he encountered at Liberty.

“What Would Jesus… Blog?” by Jamie Wright

“Some were offended that I would allow, let alone invite, my beloved friend to share this little space on the web. They were livid. One even wrote to let me know she was taking her ball and going home. “I’m unfollowing”, she said. And then she explained that she had enjoyed this blog over the years, but sharing my internet home with a gay Jew was just too much. She’s outta here. And then she dropped  this bomb of internet hilarity:

Does Jesus love those living in sin? yes! Did Jesus spend time with sinners? yes! Would Jesus invite an unrepentant sinner to post on His blog? no.’

Honestly? I burst out laughing at the thought of Blogger Jesus gazing at his laptop at noon in his pajamas, sipping cold coffee, checking stats, linking his post on Facebook… Hilarious, right?!… But I still had to ask myself, What would Jesus blog? And Who would Jesus let guest post?”

Jamie addresses a sensitive topic here with grace and humor. And I mean really, it’s worth reading the post just for that nugget of quoted ridiculousness up there.

Most amusing find: Google Poetics

New Obsession: Baking homemade bread

photo(1)

I’ve been playing around with making a few different kinds of bread, but my favorite is challah. While delicious, I’ve hardly nailed the beautiful six-strand braid challah is meant to have. I’m determined to have it down by Rosh Hashanah.

Leave a Reply

