Life

Crisis of normalcy

I’m twenty-one years old, and sometimes I feel like I’m having a mid-life crisis. In high school I remember feeling as though there had to be something beyond my little standard American life, and I’m feeling that way again. Maybe I feel that way because there is something more than that. Shocking concept.

I’m dissatisfied with Republican Christianity, American consumerism and “quiet times.” I’m dissatisfied with my own role in the cultural machine of all of that. And I’m fully aware that my frustration is not unique. But I think there are a lot of answers we should be searching for, and no one seems to be asking the questions.

Christians say that God should be the center of everything in our lives. More often than not, we miss the true meaning of that statement; our lives should be holistic, defined as “emphasizing the organic or functional relation between parts and the whole.” Why is it that reading the Bible feels like a Christian part of life, and babysitting a child or watching a movie feels like some sort of undefined, neutral part of life? When did we lose the organic connection between parts of our life and the whole?

Leave a Reply

